Wednesday, October 27, 2010

New President of Tonus Vivus

ROBERT J. ROSEN AT THE HELM OF TONUS VIVUS! (Edmonton, AB) Tonus Vivus – Society for New Music is very pleased to welcome the internationally recognised composer, Robert J. Rosen, as its new President.

At the Annual General Meeting held on 24 October, 2010, Tonus Vivus – Society for New Music, elected Robert J. Rosen as its new President. A household name in Canadian and international New Music circles, Rosen brings to the Society decades worth of artistic and administrative success. He has been active on the contemporary music scene for over thirty years and his concert works, trans-disciplinary works, as well as scores for dance and film have been performed and broadcast on five continents in countries ranging from Canada to Sweden to Uruguay to India, to mention just a few. Among a veritable host of great Canadian and foreign artists who have commissioned and presented Rosen's music are Robert Aitken, Jean-Pierre Drouet, Mather-Lepage Duo, Barbara Pritchard, Parmela Attariwala, the Penderecki String Quartet, Trio Phoenix, and many others.

Rosen worked for The Banff Centre for the Arts for fifteen years ending his tenure as the Associate Director of Music and Sound. He was then on faculty at Mount Royal College in Calgary teaching in the Diploma and Conservatory Academy programmes. He has also taught composition at the University of Calgary. Currently, Rosen is on faculty at the Alberta College Conservatory (Grant MacEwan University) in Edmonton, AB.

Rosen will be working closely with the newly elected Board of Directors, which includes composer and educator Linda Purves as Vice President and Treasurer, saxophone virtuosa Allison Balcetis as Secretary, as well as the following Members at Large: George Andrix, Daniel Brophy, Ian Crutchley, Ruth Guechtal, and Colin Labadie.

Says Piotr Grella-Mozejko, the Society's Artistic Director: "The election of Robert Rosen and the new Board marks a breakthrough moment in the Tonus Vivus twenty-five-year-long history. This incredible group of people, which includes the representatives of literally all active generations of Canadian musicians, from the distinguished composers George Andrix and Ian Crutchley to the youngest and extremely talented members such as Allison Balcetis, Ruth Guechtal, Colin Labadie and Dan Brophy, will undoubtedly make their mark and take the Society where it really belongs, to the upper echelons on Canadian and international New Music presenters".

For more information: Tonus Vivus
(780) 432-1618

No comments:

Post a Comment